friday favorites

Five Friday Favorites

I am so ready for the weekend, friends. This has been a long week and I’m exciting to sit back, relax, and enjoy a few days off. I thought I would round up a few of my favorites from this past week to help me focus on the positive.

1.  My husband and I are going to go car shopping this weekend – we’re looking for another SUV to replace his Altima that’s not the greatest in the snow (we live in Vermont, after all) – so that should be fun. Ever since I was about 10 years old my dream car has been this:

52929686
Damn.

That, my friends, is a Saab 9-3 Convertible in Metallic Lime Yellow. It needs to be that color for me to even remotely like it. If I could find an SUV that color…yeah, it would move to the top of my list – #priorities.

 

2. Meal planning this week has been going extremely well. I made a vegetarian lasagna that lasted for lunch all week. I used Gardein beefless crumbles in the sauce and even my carnivore husband can’t even tell the difference between that and the Bolognese I used to make. Adam took initiative yesterday and made the dinner I planned for us – Hot for Food’s creamy vegan mushroom fettuccine alfredo.

alfredo
the best dinner my husband has ever made

Adam has tried to make dinner before. Usually his concoctions are just okay, but sometimes he really fails miserably. This is a running joke between the two of us – maybe one day I’ll share the story of “Woodchuck Chicken.” What a disaster. This, however, was the best meal he’s ever made – and it’s vegan! I need to give Lauren and John 98% of the credit, but…Adam gets that 2% 🙂

3. I am definitely more of a dog person than a cat person, but I have an inexplicable love for shoes with cat faces on them. I should also note that my  fashion taste is more “Champagne” while my actual budget is”Arbor Mist” – so I am really lusting after this pair of Charlotte Olympia flats:

NMX3AQT_bz.jpg
Be still, my heart.

I also love these Kate Spade flats, so if you’re a size 9.5 take a look. Kate Spade also does a cat-themed loafer – you can find that style here. If these fit your budget, Neiman Marcus is offering a coupon right now (you can save $50 on a $200+ or $100 off a $400+ purchase by using code NMSAVE at checkout). For my budget-conscious cat-lovers out there: if you’re a fan of ankle straps this pair is a good save! I’m not, so if you find a cat-themed pair of flats sans-straps for under $100, let me know in the comments below!

 

 

4. I keep this quotation at my desk. It helps remind me to keep my head above the negativity. I always make sure to try to start every day new, and to leave the previous day’s drama behind. Sometimes it works, sometimes I struggle. As long as I keep coming to work with a smile on my face, I’ll call it a win.

there-is-little-difference-in-people-but-that-little-difference-makes-a-big-difference-that-little-quote-1

5. Of course we’ll end on a coffee note 🙂 Adam bought a massive pack of chocolate Carnation Breakfast Essentials at Costco a month ago, so when I ran out of my Optimum Nutrition protein powder I decided to try them out. I’ve been following the following recipe and it’s been a great morning treat. It keeps me full until around 11AM, when I have to have a snack – usually a piece of fruit, like an apple or a banana – or I won’t make it to lunch without turning into a crabby witch (just telling it like it is – I get hangry fast).

coffee
Shake up your coffee routine

Iced Coffee Breakfast Smoothie
Ingredients
1 packet (or 1 serving/1 scoop) Carnation Instant Breakfast/protein powder (I like chocolate, but I would think any flavor that’s not fruity would work – but hey, if you want to try strawberry coffee, go ahead. That’s just not my cup of tea).
8oz (1 cup) cold brew coffee (or leftover coffee you’ve chilled overnight in the fridge. I won’t judge!)
4oz (1/2 cup) almond milk (I prefer this brand, Califia Farms, because I hate cartons – #truelife). I use the original flavor most often, because I always have some in the house. I’ve also used the toasted coconut and that is also delicious!
To taste: any flavored creamers, vanilla extract, almond extract, etc. you want

4-5 ice cubes

Directions
Put all of the above ingredients in a blender and…blend. Enjoy!
Quick note – if you have a leftover handful of spinach or kale, you can add that to this recipe and you will not taste it in the smoothie. Just something to keep in mind if you are cleaning out your fridge and are wondering what to do with twenty spare leaves of green.  

 

That’s it for today, I think. I would love to know what your favorite foods/moments/things were this week – let me know in the comments below!

Have a wonderful weekend.

Best – Jennie

Leave a Reply

