coffee break

Autumn Spiced Coffee (no Pumpkin!)

2ae21901481bfe2290368922754ae03034598a2fa391424cf18ac2cb7f32fd73
I love memes like this. Oh, and Game of Thrones.

I’ll admit it: I’m a huge fan of pumpkin spice. If that makes me “basic” – well, I don’t really want to be complicated. However, even I sometimes feel overwhelmed by the sheer amount of pumpkin flavored/pumpkin themed recipes floating around during fall. Sometimes I crave the warm, inviting flavor that pumpkin spice offers – without the squash. Enter: Autumn Spiced Coffee.

This recipe is super easy, and can be accomplished multiple ways. I will explain how I did it using my French press, but then below I’ll add some notes that will let you modify this DIY.

img_20160925_193910
Autumn Spiced Coffee!

Autumn Spiced Coffee – serves 2-4 depending on how big your mugs are
Ingredients
2tbsp coffee of choice – I prefer anything dark roast, but I have a ton of Green Mountain Dark Magic on hand, so that’s what I used
2tbsp loose-leaf Chai (or 1-2 bags) – I used Oprah Chai from Teavana since that’s what I had on hand. I’ve also used Chai from Trader Joe’s before, so don’t fret over the quality of your tea
Sugar, to taste – I used a teaspoon of rock sugar from Teavana (I swear this isn’t sponsored…) because again, it’s just what I had in my cupboard
Milk – I used a can of lite coconut milk, but use whatever you have on hand/whatever you prefer. I just like the flavor the coconut milk adds

Directions
Boil water, or turn your Keurig on to heat up around 16oz of water. Put all the ingredients (except the milk) into your French press, pour over the hot water, and let steep for 4-5 minutes. Add milk, and press. Pour, sip, and enjoy!

Notes
I typically boil water when using my French press, but I will resort to using my Keurig to heat up water when I’m impatient/in a hurry/desperate for a drink. That being 
said, you don’t need a French press to make this recipe. You can:
1. Use Keurig + K-cup of your choice to make a cup of coffee. Before drinking, steep 1 (or 2, if you really love the flavor!) chai bag in the hot coffee. Discard hot tea bag, add coconut milk/whatever milk you have/coffee creamer/sugar to taste. Enjoy.
2. Make a pot of coffee (assuming 4 cups) however you like. Add 4 bags of chai to the pot. Brew. Discard tea bags. Pour. Add whatever you like. Enjoy.
3. Make a pot of coffee (assuming 4 cups here also) however you like. Add 4 tbsp of loose leaf chai directly to the grounds. Brew. Pour Add whatever you like. Enjoy.
4. Increase coffee and chai to 4 tbsp each. Slightly reduce the amount of water to 12-14oz. Do not add milk. Press. Pour over ice. Top with chilled milk of choice. Voila – iced spiced coffee!

Let me know in the comments below if you made this and what you thought!

Happy Autumn!
Best – Jennie

Leave a Reply

