Uncategorized

Saturday Morning Treat

Fall is my favorite season. As the first weekend after Labor Day, this is officially (in my opinion) the first weekend of FALL! Adam and I have semi-planned a day of fall adventures – there may be more pictures to come later. For right now, I thought I would share an amazing breakfast treat!

20160910_100924
Soft, delicious, vanilla-glazed pumpkin spice sugar cookies!

I adapted the recipe from Lauren’s post here. Since it is just the two of us, I didn’t want to make 3-4 dozen cookies, so here is what I did to cut down the recipe:

Pumpkin Spice Sugar Cookies for Two (or Three, if you feel generous)
Preheat oven to 350F
Mix the following together in a medium-size bowl:
1/8c butter (2tbsp)
1/8c coconut oil
1/8c 100% pumpkin puree (I use Libby’s)
1/4c granulated sugar
1/8c powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla – I use this vanilla paste in all my baking, you could also use beans or extract
1/2 egg (yeah I know, 1/2 an egg?!…Here is what I did: I scrambled an egg in a little ramekin and tossed half in the batter. I microwaved the other half to quickly cook it and then gave it to my dog with her breakfast)
1c all purpose flour
dash of salt, as much pumpkin pie spice as you want (I probably used 1-2 tsp)

After lining a baking sheet with parchment paper, lightly dust your hands with flour. Form the cookies into six balls, flattening the cookies between your palms. Put them on the baking sheet, and place in the 350F oven for around 10 minutes (I generally recommend starting to watch them around minute 8. Your oven might work differently than mine, and you don’t want this cookies to burn – they are too good).

For the glaze – mix 3/4c powdered sugar in a bowl with 1 tbsp water. You can add vanilla paste (I did!) or pumpkin pie spice to flavor the glaze. When the cookies are out of the oven, drizzle the glaze over the top. Or spoon it on. Or pour it on. Whatever you prefer. You will have more glaze than you need, so if you aren’t a glaze fan you could either cut this recipe in half or omit the glaze altogether (the cookies will still be delicious). The glaze will begin to harden. You can wait to eat these cookies…or, you can grab a cup of coffee (I recommend pumpkin spice flavored…it is fall after all!) and go to town.

Without the glaze, the nutrition info (from MyFitnessPal) is approximately (per cookie):
175cal, 8g fat (5.6g saturated), 9.9g sugar, 2.4g protein, 23.6g carbohydrates

Speaking of food…I’m a big fan of cooking shows/cooking videos. My recent favorite has been Jamie Oliver. If you want to know what I’m craving for dinner (I may very well overdose on carbs today), here’s a hint:

Best – Jennie

 

One thought on “Saturday Morning Treat

Leave a Reply

