Uncategorized

What’s Up Wednesday

Some of my favorite blogs do this sort of summary every month and I think it’s a great way to tell you a little bit about myself.

What We’re Eating This Week

We’re getting serious about meal planning over here in Vermont. My husband is a meat-and-potatoes kind of guy; I’m more of a vegetable korma kind of girl. That means we were eating a lot of separate meals for dinner, which really racked up the grocery bill. In an effort to become more health-conscious (and get my husband to eat the same food I do), I’ve recently decided to try to take some of his favorite foods and make them healthier. My favorite way to gather new recipes? That would be Pinterest.

7da3b5ab1d804279c4925b74b5c75666
One of the last “Pins” I liked on Pinterest!

What I’m Reminiscing About

My husband and I celebrated our three-year wedding anniversary in early August. Since then, I’ve been thinking a lot about our honeymoon. We stayed at a bed and breakfast in Maine. It was the first real vacation we ever took together, besides visiting my mother in Orlando, Florida. We bought flavored vinegars and olive oils at Leroux Kitchen in Portland – I found an empty bottle in our cabinet today and thought about how nice it would be to go back there – maybe this time we could take our pup, Nana (the B&B we stayed in a few years ago was totally pet-friendly)! Something to consider for next year.

olive_oils


What I’m Loving (combining with What I’m Watching/Reading!)

https://www.amazon.com/You-Are-Badass-Doubting-Greatness-ebook/dp/B00B3M3VWS/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1473300161&sr=1-1&keywords=you+are+a+badass#nav-subnav

Do you want to read self help books but hate how lofty they tend to be? Not this one. The author, Jen Sincere, is totally down-to-earth (and more than a little sassy) which makes for an easy read. I recommend to anyone looking for an extra dose of motivation.

https://www.amazon.com/Parks-Recreation-Complete-Amy-Poehler/dp/B00SG16TIC/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1473300260&sr=8-2&keywords=parks+and+recreation
I idolize Leslie Knope just a little.

Parks & Recreation! Something I love about Netflix is that it lets me watch shows that I didn’t know about/appreciate when they were on cable TV. Admittedly, when I say “watch” I mean “leave on in the background while reading and/or browsing Pinterest,” but hey…that’s just me. I have a poor attention span when it comes to TV.

What I’m Working On

Painting my bookshelves! I inherited some old bookcases from my mother years ago when she was cleaning out an old classroom. They are brown, which does not fit into my decor at all – but I’ve kept them as-is because I just never had the time to paint them. Well I decided to make the time – I’ve already painted one of two bookcases, and I love the way they look. I was inspired by this picture (another pinterest find):

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/90353536253783268/
Grey + Yellow home office – my cup of tea!

What I’m Listening To

https://www.amazon.com/Vacancy-Bayside/dp/B01FO6GJVS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1473300633&sr=8-1&keywords=bayside+vacancy
Bayside – Vacancy

Bayside’s new album, Vacancy. My favorite songs so far are “Mary” and “It’s Not as Depressing as it Sounds.” So good!

What I’m Wearing

https://charlestongiftsonline.com/product/southern-gates-sterling-silver-earrings-oak-oval/
Southern Gate Earrings – Charleston, SC

Last month, I went to Charleston, SC on vacation and bought a similar pair of earrings to commemorate my trip. It was the first time I ever went somewhere by myself – it was also my first time using AirBnB, which I was nervous about! I had the time of my life and loved exploring a new place on my own. I have a ton of pictures from the trip that I might upload to a gallery – I will link it here if I get around to it!

What I’m Looking Forward to Next Month

 

http://www.gostowe.com/arts-crafts

The Stowe Foliage Arts Festival, which is October 7-9 this year.

Also, the following: Autumn! Orchards! Foliage season! Pumpkins! Halloween! Glogg! Scarves! Fireplaces! Fall-flavored coffees, of course.

I hope this helped you learn a little more about me! Enjoy the rest of your day.

Best – Jennie

 

Leave a Reply

